Record Details
11 of 202
Book cover

Bad city : peril and power in the City of Angels

Pringle, Paul (Author).

For fans of Spotlight and Catch and Kill comes a nonfiction thriller about corruption and betrayal radiating across Los Angeles from one of the region's most powerful institutions, a riveting tale from a Pulitzer-prize winning journalist who investigated the shocking events and helped bring justice in the face of formidable odds. On a cool, overcast afternoon in April 2016, a salacious tip arrived at the L.A. Times that reporter Paul Pringle thought should have taken, at most, a few weeks to check out: a drug overdose at a fancy hotel involving one of the University of Southern California's shiniest stars-Dr. Carmen Puliafito, the head of the prestigious medical school. Pringle, who'd long done battle with USC and its almost impenetrable culture of silence, knew reporting the story wouldn't be a walk in the park. USC is the largest private employer in the city of L.A., and it casts a long shadow. But what he couldn't have foreseen was that this tip would lead to the unveiling of not one major scandal at USC but two, wrapped in a web of crimes and cover-ups. The rot rooted out by Pringle and his colleagues at The Times would creep closer to home than they could have imagined-spilling into their own newsroom. Packed with details never before disclosed, Pringle goes behind the scenes to reveal how he and his fellow reporters triumphed over the city's debased institutions, in a narrative that reads like L.A. noir. This is L.A. at its darkest and investigative journalism at its brightest

Book  - 2022
362.2909794 Pri
1 copy / 0 on hold

Available Copies by Location

Location
Victoria Available
  • ISBN: 9781250824080
  • Physical Description print
    viii, 289 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition First edition.
  • Publisher [Place of publication not identified] : [publisher not identified], 2022.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references.
Formatted Contents Note: Prologue -- The Overdose -- Sarah and Tony -- The Tip -- Hitting a Wall -- Searching for Sarah -- The Warrens -- The Celebration -- We Need the PD -- A Protected Person -- Spiking the Story -- Secret Reporting Team -- Sarah's Escape -- No Snitches -- Ecstasy Before the Ball -- Heather and Eddie -- Disappearing the Whistleblower -- Puliafito Story Explodes -- Purging the Masthead -- Billionaire Backers and the Trojan D.A. -- A Baby -- Another Bad Doctor -- Tyndall's Hush-Hush Deal -- The Fall of Max Nikias -- Varsity Blues -- Saving The Times, And . . . .